Till startsida
To content Read more about how we use cookies on gu.se


The Göteborg and Umeå Vascular study group (GUVASC) was previously known as Gothenburg Atheroma Study Group (GASG).

The aim of the group is to carry out studies on the pathophysiology of atherosclerosis and aortic aneurysms.

Activities within the GUVASC collaborations is handled by a steering committee and by yearly meetings with a study group consisting of collaborators from vascular surgery, neurology, clinical physiology, Wallenberg laboratory and Astrazeneca.

Link to the GUVASC Rules (opens in a new window)

Study population and examinations

The study sample collected between 2003-2009 consist of symptomatic carotid atherosclerotic plaques obtained from carotid endarterectomies performed at the Sahlgrenska University Hospital (Göteborg, Sweden). Criteria qualifying for surgery were minor ischemic stroke, transient ischemic attack (TIA) or amaurosis fugax and a high-grade carotid stenosis (≧70% determined with the European Carotid Surgery Trial method).

In 2010 the study group was expanded and symptomatic and asymptomatic carotid endarterectomies were also collected from University Hospital of Umeå (Dr Per Wester and Dr Conny Arnerlöv).
A further expansion in 2010 led to inclusion of serum and plasma samples taken from patients with newly diagnosed abdominal aortic aneurysms (AAA).


Contact Information

Göran Bergström

The Wallenberg Laboratory, Sahlgrenska University Hospital, SE-413 45 Göteborg, Sweden

Visiting Address:
Bruna Stråket 16

+46 (0)31 342 8011

+46 (0)31 82 76 14

Commitee and members

Göran Bergström

Fredrik Olsson

Per Wester
Representative from University Hospital in Umeå

Marcus Langenskiöld
Representative from Vascular surgery

Current members
Annika Nordanstig
Asal Ghajavand
Björn Fagerberg
Conny Arnerlöv
Fredrik Bäckhed
Fredrik Olson
Göran Bergström
Inge Kalies
Jan Borén
Johan Fredén-Lindqvist
Johannes Hulthe
Josefin Kjelldahl
Jörgen Nordlöf
Karin Fröjd
Lars Karlström
Lars Rosengren
Levent Akyürek
Lillemor Mattsson-Hultén
Linda Fogelstrand
Marcus Langenskiöld
Maria Johansson
Marie Louise Ekholm
Ola Hjelmgren
Olov Wiklund
Per Wester
Per-Arne Svensson
Sofia Strömberg
Urban Wingren
Åsa Tivesten

Page Manager: Anna Hallén|Last update: 7/12/2012

The University of Gothenburg uses cookies to provide you with the best possible user experience. By continuing on this website, you approve of our use of cookies.  What are cookies?